Arun Shankar (Software Engineer)     26 March 2012

Road accident injured person cremation procedure

Dear experts...

My father in law had a road accident 2+ years back. Since then he was in vegetative state due to the head injury. All legal procedures like FIR, a court case for accident claim from insurance company of the driver was filed. Though there was no improvement in the legal battle so far and hardly any hearing done till date.

Couple of days back he breathed last at a reputed hospital in Bangalore. The reason for this death was due to certain complications he developed due to the 2+ years of bed ridden state. In this 2+ years we incurred several lakhs expenses of hospitalization and nursing at home.

Question: Technically, for the legal case to go further in favour of the legal heirs, was a post-mortem of my father-in-law mandatory? Doctors did not suggest us to do so. Can this topple the case ? The lawyer we have hired says so. Kindly advice. Also, what is the normal duration for such cases to get completed?

Thanks in advance. Any advice would be of great help to our family.

Arun Shankar

adv. rajeev ( rajoo ) (practicing advocate)     26 March 2012

post mortem  is not necessary, but legal heirs have to prove that injured died because of the accidental injuries, then only compensation can get.