Radha Gowda (TO)     12 January 2012

Query regarding criminal case

I m Ms. Archana, just wanted your guidance regarding my case.   I have filed a case in the police station regarding manhandling to me with a wicket stick and use of unparliamentary words by his family members. I had beaten up by wicket stick with one person. Already FIR has been lodged. My right hand got fractured in this incidence. I got the medical and xray checkup and submitted the wound certificate too to the police station . In the wound certificate the Dr. has mention about the fracture and the injury is griveance in nature. Just want to know on which section the culprit will be booked and if its proven what punishment will he get.

kindly guide me

archana

ravindra (Analyst)     12 January 2012

Indian Penal Code (IPC)

Section 320. Grievous hurt.

The following kinds of hurt only are desig­nated as “grievous”:—

First.— Emasculation.

Secondly.—Permanent privation of the sight of either eye.

Thirdly.— Permanent privation of the hearing of either ear,

Fourthly.—Privation of any member or joint.

Fifthly.— Destruction or permanent impairing of the powers of any member or joint.

Sixthly.— Permanent disfiguration of the head or face.

Seventhly.—Fracture or dislocation of a bone or tooth.

Eighthly.—Any hurt which endangers life or which causes the sufferer to be during the space of twenty days in severe bodily pain, or unable to follow his ordinary pursuits.

COMMENTS

The act of squeezing the testicles of a person would be an offence of causing grievous hurt; State of Karnataka v. Shivalingaiah, (1988) Cr LJ 394: AIR 1988 SC 115.

Or u can read 

https://www.vakilno1.com/bareacts/indianpenalcode/S323.htm

sridhar pasumarthy (ADVOCATE)     12 January 2012

Dear Archana,

Section 324 I.P.C. attracts to ur case facts.  Punishment is 3 years imprisonment or fine or both.

Arvind Singh Chauhan (advocate)     12 January 2012

325 IPC - punishment 7 years with fine

504 IPC- 2 years or fine or both

Anoop Kuksal (Advocate)     12 January 2012

Ms Archna,

The crime false under cognizable offence under IPC sec 325 and  punishment  is upto 7 years.

Anup

Advocate

Shonee Kapoor (Legal Evangelist - TRIPAKSHA)     18 January 2012

324/ 325 and also 504.