Ankit S. Varma   03 November 2025

New passport police verification

I have applied for a new passport. I am born 24th August 2003 At the interview submitted my Aadhar, Birth Certificate, 10th, 12th and Graduate mark sheet. Police Officer demanding Birth Certificate of my father. My had Aadhar Card and PAN Card but he does not have his Birth Certificate. Is my father's birth certificate is necessary? If it is necessary, then Can my father submit affidavit in lieu of birth certificate? Police Officer states that there is a new rule. Kindly guide and help please. Regards

Quick Summary
A passport applicant is being asked by a police officer for their father's birth certificate, despite providing all their own identification documents. While a father's birth certificate is generally not a mandatory requirement for a major applicant's passport police verification, local officers may sometimes request it. If this situation arises, it's advisable to carry all your own supporting documents and, if the demand persists, consider escalating the matter to the district superintendent of police.

kavksatyanarayana (subregistrar/supdt.(retired))     03 November 2025

You posted this query in the expert's column also.  Verify it.

T. Kalaiselvan, Advocate (Advocate)     03 November 2025

The father's birth certificate is generally not mandatory for the police verification of a major son's passport application; instead, the son's own proof of date of birth (like an Aadhaar Card, PAN Card, or school certificate) is sufficient. However, it's possible a local police officer may request it for their verification, and it is recommended to carry the applicant's own documents. 

The police verification is for the applicant's residence and identity.

In some cases, officers may ask for parents' documents if there are discrepancies or concerns about the applicant's information.

If the police is still insisting on your father's birth certificate, you may approach the district superintendent of police or file a writ petition against police seeking direction to submit verification report without demanding irrelevant documents

Ankit S. Varma   04 November 2025

Respected Sir,

I inadvertently posted being a first timer, not knowing in which column to post.

Thank you for the help and guidance. I will do the needful as advised.

Once again thank you.

Dr. J C Vashista (Advocate )     04 November 2025

Generally father's birth certificate is not demanded. 

Recent Topics

View More