Amrita Ghosh (Software Prefoessional)     24 May 2015

Need your advise: passport surname change

Hello Everyone,

Kindly advise me regarding changes in passport personal details post marriage.

My Indian Passport (issued before my marriage):

Spouse – BLANK

Father Name – SWAPAN GHOSH

First Name (s) - AMRITA
Surname - GHOSH

My Marriage Certificate:

Spouse – SURESH KUMAR BABU      

Father Name – SWAPAN GHOSH

Full Name - AMRITA SURESH NEE GHOSH   

Now my query is - Based on my marriage certificate (where my surname has been changed), am I legally bound to change my surname/signature in all my documents like passport, pancard and back accounts?

If yes, what Surname should I put while re-issuing Passport?

OPTION 1: (Is NEE word allowed in passport surname?)

First Name (s) – AMRITA

Surname – SURESH NEE GHOSH

OR

OPTION 2:

First Name (s) – AMRITA

Surname – SURESH

OR

OPTION 3:

First Name (s) – AMRITA

Surname – GHOSH SURESH

Thank You

SAINATH DEVALLA (LEGAL CONSULTANT)     25 May 2015

Change of surname is only optional but not mandatory for a woman.U can continue the same signatures U have been affixing before marriage.

Prashant Ghai (Advocate) (PrashantGhai.com)     27 May 2015

Whether you want to change your surname or not is a personal choice. I'll advice you to get it changed in the Passport. You'll need a copy of your Marriage Certificate and an Affidavit stating that you wish to change your surname.

Now your husband's name is: Suresh (First Name) Kumar (Middle Name) Babu (Surname/Last Name). The middle name is always optional. I avoid it as it always leads to a confusion.

So your NEW name should be (if you keep your maiden surname): Amrita (First Name) Ghosh (Middle Name) Babu (Last Name)

OR

If you choose not to keep your maiden surname then: Amrita (First Name) Babu (Last Name)

Amol Kende (No)     28 May 2015

Yes agree with Prashant and Sainath but Passport authority of India also validate one individual name change process also which is Gazatt declaration requester can use that one to change name as per wish