Indranil (Professional)     13 February 2012

Maintenance amount

My wife separated from me around 3 years back. I have a son 4 years old. Both me and my wife have been working. I have around 10 years experience and she is working in a MNC for the past 7 years. I would like to know what the the possible maintenance amount that i will be required to pay "in case of a mutual" DV.

sridhar pasumarthy (ADVOCATE)     13 February 2012

When your wife has sufficient earnings, you need not pay any amount towards her maintenance.

But, you need to pay for your child depending on his needs.

Indranil (Professional)     13 February 2012

What is the age of child till which i have to pay maintenance

Chaitanya_Lawyer_Mumbai (Lawyer)     13 February 2012

Till the child attains majority...It is generally considered as till he completes education.

Indranil (Professional)     14 February 2012

what is meant "till Majority". is majority in india age 18 or 21. kindly let know.

sridhar pasumarthy (ADVOCATE)     14 February 2012

It is 18 but not 21

Go for a Mutual Consent and negotiate for the settlement amount anywhere between 10-20 lacs

Chaitanya_Lawyer_Mumbai (Lawyer)     14 February 2012

Both the parents are supposed to maintain child in equal share if they are working.

Giving Monthly Maintenance is better than one time settlement.