Share on Facebook

Share on Twitter

Share on LinkedIn

Share on Email

Share More

Renuka Gupata (none)     27 June 2010

maintenance

Hi

I am a freelance consultant. Started consulting very late in my life when I was around 44 years old. Though since then consulting has been  happening, in  between a year there was no assignment. Then again I got a 46 days assignment in an UN agency  stretched over several months. But after this is over again I am not sure when I will get another assignment. Meanwhile my husband has filed a divorce petition and says that  I am gainfully employed and have sufficient means of living. I have unsure/irregular  income and I also suffer from diabetes. My daughter lives with me--she is 15 years old. Since last month he has stopped depositing the money he used to send for us. 

The divorce is filed under Hindu marriage act. 

Keeping in view my age--I am 48 years now with a 20 year old marriage, my health status and irregular income, how much maintenance can I expect? My husband works in a multi national company. Though he never revealed his salary, my guess is that it is quite high. He holds a high post there. 

How much maintenance my daughter can get?

Please give your valuable opinion.

Thanks,

Renuka Gupta.

Learning

9 Replies

Pranjal Srivastava (Lawyer)     27 June 2010

Renuka Ji

Ask the company in which your husband works for his salary slips . If they are not providing you   go through RTI 

you can get approx 1/3 of his salary subject to how many family members are dependent on your husband ei. her mother you and your daughter etc. 

adv. rajeev ( rajoo ) (practicing advocate)     27 June 2010

I do agree with Pranjal.  Even you can call the details of the salary from your husband's office, you can also attach his salary and also you can seek interrium maintenance.

Renuka Gupta ( Gender Researcher )     27 June 2010

Thank you both.

G. ARAVINTHAN (Legal Consultant / Solicitor)     27 June 2010