V.G.Rao Advocate (Advocate)     12 March 2010

Is Hussband liable to maintain his working wife ?

Hi  all,

I had a case in hand, that the wife isclaiming Maintenance  who is working in a central govt department and earning 20+K per month aginst her husband who is a business man and his turn over is Rs 4 to 5 lakhs P.A in a divorce proceedings intiated by him. According to his wife out of their wed lock a girl child was born and at present she is doing her graduation, and as per her pleadings her in come is not sufficiant to maintain house hold expenditure as well as  her daughters further education, and to perform marriage of her, hence she requested the court  to direct the husband to provide Rs 15,000/- per month towards maintenance charges of her, and her daugther,

Now My question is being a central govt employee, having handsome salary, the petition filed by wife is maintanable? whether husband is liable for the same?

If any citations are there kindly intimate me.

Arup Kumar Gupta, Korba, Chattishgarh ((m)9893058429)     17 March 2010

sec 25 of the hindu marriage act - provides the formula.

a supreme court judgement is also there on the same matter but i could not remember it. see the concerned sec in a detailed book on sec 25 & 24.