LCI Learning

Share on Facebook

Share on Twitter

Share on LinkedIn

Share on Email

Share More

Tarang Mathur (Software Eng)     01 March 2012

Ipc 337,338

Recently I had an accident where my car hit a bullcart on a National Highway. Fir says 279 and 337 while chargesheet is filed for IPC 337,338. I have done an out of court settlement with the complaining party is there a possibility of closing the case at police station level and if I have to go to court what is the probability of fine or punishment. What would be the effects on VISA in future in case I am applying for one.

How good should be the lawyer for such instances. I am new to the Karnataka please suggest.

Learning

7 Replies

Adv.R.P.Chugh (Advocate/Legal Consultant (rpchughadvocatesupremecourt@hotmail.com))     01 March 2012

Mr.Mathur,

I do not know exactly what do you mean by out of court settlement ? If the complainant has agreed not to pursue the case in lieu of monetary compensation from your side, then reduce the agreement into writing, and don't pay until the complainant co-operates with you  -in the quashing of FIR, there is no possibility that the matter is ended at the police station level - you'd have to go to the High Court of the state for the matter to end. The offences involved therein are 279/337 - which are not compoundable meaning thereby - cannot be settled out of court - hence you would have to approach the High Court for quashing the case against you.

Consult a good lawyer, otherwise things may get messy - you might end up paying but would still may face trial. 

Thanks for reply and suggestions.

Yes, We have taken in writing that this is a full and final settlement from complainant side and that they have no problems with the me anymore.I  have paid them by demand  draft. I paid things from my my pocket since third party insurance unavailability at the day of accident.