LCI Learning

Share on Facebook

Share on Twitter

Share on LinkedIn

Share on Email

Share More

Moumita Dutta Sen (Owner)     03 September 2013

I'm confused to my marriage.

My name is Moumita.i worked as a Teacher.Last week i had completed my court marriage but i could not submitted  my mutual Divorce copy.Because my Parents don’t know my previous marriage. But I told all truth to my present husband.I have mutual divorce certified copy.i keep this copy very carefull.i have one confusion when I did court marriage,  I showed my Marital Status Unmarried.

plz some one help me.i want to know my Second marriage is valid or not.??

Learning

11 Replies

i'm very confused plz advice me.

Ranee....... (NA)     03 September 2013

Tell everything to parents.If someday you hv any roblem with 2nd husband then he may take advantage of it.
1 Like

Tajobsindia (Senior Partner )     03 September 2013

@ Author,

1.    If a Hindu marriage is performed with all the essential ceremonies the marriage is valid. If all the essential ceremonies are not performed, Registration of the marriage does not itself make the marriage valid. There are two essential ceremonies that must be performed i.e. saptapadi and invocation before the fire or if there is custom peculiar to party the same must be performed.

2.       The second marriage if registered after taking proper divorce from previous marriage which you say you have taken MCD in previous marriage then your second marriage is a valid marriage. But, the second marriage Registration is not a valid Registration of Marriage as one of the Statements given to Register the marriage is believed to be a False Statement made knowing well it to be untrue as per S. 199 of IPC.

3.       If your second husband challenges the Registration of Marriage then only thing that you will be subject to provided such challenge if proved is punishment in accordance with above Law and may lead to divorce.