vijaybhushan ( advoacte)     08 June 2010

Hindu succession Act

Kindly explain deference between testate and successor and can Hindu male person appoint successor contrary to Hindu succession Act.

Adv. Gulammayudin A. Gagdani (LEGAL ADVISOR)     08 June 2010

TESTATOR

• (noun) a person who makes a will

synonyms : testate

WordNet® 3.0, © 2006 by Princeton University.

Mnemonics for testator

• (Tag: ) Testator - change the word Testat into state and add success to or.. The TEstator States his will to his successOR.

added by pushpa_edit    editEdit Mnemonic

Was this mnemonic useful ?    +2 UP    down  -6  

• (Tag: ) One who TESTS the SUCCESSOR for a fortune - TEST - ATOR

added by drquadros54    editEdit Mnemonic

Was this mnemonic useful ?    +1 UP    down  -2  

• (Tag: ) testator (or) testate: here from testate take estate and tor from testator.here tor represents a person so person having estates definetly makes a will so that estate will go to his heirs

added by gre_10    editEdit Mnemonic

Was this mnemonic useful ?    +1 UP    down  -0  

• (Tag: from root) testate (will)from latin root testor means testify.. during that time making will was not a same process like today, they used witness(testis) in place of stamp paper

added by sukhoyash    editEdit Mnemonic

Was this mnemonic useful ?    +1 UP    down  -1  

• (Tag: english) you hav a will to become a doctor..so 1st you hav to write a test..

added by Ani    editEdit Mnemonic

Was this mnemonic useful ?    +0 UP    down  -1  

• (Tag: eng) parents will transfer all their properties to their children before death. such an act is called testator = THE + STATOR (stater).

added by arulmozhi    editEdit Mnemonic

Was this mnemonic useful ?    +0 UP    down  -1  

• (Tag: ) Test +ator(Ate) when u give a test and could not do well YOU WISH your papers were eaten by something... (papers are lost)so u are a testator(WISHING ABT u r papers)

added by sandeep41190    editEdit Mnemonic

Was this mnemonic useful ?    +0 UP    down  -0  

Suchitra. S (Advocate)     08 June 2010

Testator - A person who has made legally valid will before his death.

Successor - legal heir of a deceased person.

A Hindu person cannot appoint a successor. It is decided by law. But a testator can appoint a successor as an administrator.

raj kumar ji (LAW STUDENT )     08 June 2010

yes i also agree with suchitra .s

kranthi (retainer advocate)     17 June 2010

suchitra said correctly

JAGDISH LAL (Practising Advocate)     11 August 2010

No a hindu male cannot  appoint successor contrary to provisions of Hindu Succession Act.  But in case of self acquired properties a male hindu is fully free to appoint anyone as his successor