Share on Facebook

Share on Twitter

Share on LinkedIn

Share on Email

Share More

Anon (00)     18 May 2014

Help in property tax collection

Dear Sirs,

My grandfather has a self acquired leasehold flat in a cooperative group housing society  in New delhi.The flat was in joint ownership with my grandmother.They are both deceased.

My father is also deceased as of two years.I live there along with my mother

I have received a letter addressed to my grandmother from the Assesment and Collection department of municipal corporation with subject of  Assesment/mutation of flat.

Since i am a student i was wondering if any experts can informs what the department is asking for.

The letter reads :-

''Dear Sir/madam

it has been informed by recorded owner/revealed from enquiries/PTRs that you have purchased /change in hand the above said flat & you have not applied for mutation of said flat as required under section128 of DMC act 1957.

Attend this office in person within 10 days along with following documents etc.''

Also

''Failure to attend may lead to recovery action under section 155,156 and 157of DMC act''

I wish to know what this is about as since my grandmother 3 years ago died the flat is in her name .MCD property tax has been paid regularly by me.

What is this ''recovery action'' said in the letter ??

Please help sirs.

Learning

4 Replies

SRISHAILA.DHARANI (Advocate&consultant)     18 May 2014

Don't worry about this.You can to the office along with death certificates of you grand parents , along with an application for mutation transfer in your name .They will transfer the flat name to your name.

srishaila,advocate,bangalore,9741425514,sdharani120@gmail.com

Dr J C Vashista (Advocate)     18 May 2014

Contact MCD personally or engage a local lawyer, it is your responsiblity to pay municipal tax levied on the property.

Usharma (Lawyer)     18 May 2014