Upgrad
LCI Learning

Share on Facebook

Share on Twitter

Share on LinkedIn

Share on Email

Share More

Abdullah Usman Khan (Student)     26 June 2010

Harassment by neighbours for females visiting me.

I am a student who has been living in my flat on rent for 5 years now. I had been earlier studying at Jamia University which is why I chose to move in here as it was accessible. I live in Johri Farm, Noor Nagar Extension, Jamia Nagar, New Delhi 110025.

My friends, have always been visiting me since I moved in here. I do not, and will not make a distinction on the basis of their s*x. Whether they are male, or female, does not matter.

I have the right to have a friend over. I am doing NOTHING illegal. But this year, a few months ago, I was threatened and harassed, that if females didn't stop visiting my place, I would be thrown out or beaten up. My friends visited me day before yesterday, and they stayed over till yesterday. A guy and a girl. I've known them for all 5 years now.

My parents know my friends visit and stay over. The hour does not matter at all.

The neighbours claim, that if a girl is at my place at 2 past midnight, that is wrong, and if she is at my place at 2 in the afternoon, that's not wrong. This mentality sickens me to the core. Have your mentality, but dont impose it on others!

They threatened to call the police. So I said, I'd call them myself as I have done nothing wrong. So i called them, and they arrived. The neighbours wanted them to open my apartment up so they could have a look around. So the police asked me to. I said I will not do that without a warrant. The policeman told me, that a warrant is unnecessary when there's a complaint already from my neighbors. They said the same things and left. Threatening that it would get escalated and things would get bad for me, so I should just agree that I will have no female visitors over and go home. I had no choice then other than to agree.