SRINIVAS B   11 July 2022

Grandftaher's will

Respected sir/madam,
My grandfather wrote a will on a bond paper with sign and witnesses being signed to my mother.
Now, except 2/3 witnesses, all are died. Being son, how far i am eligible to claim that will against all others?
Two daughter to my grandfather (my mother (elder) and aunty), both are expired. Are my cousins have rights to claim any property written in the will?, they dont have any written document.

kindly help me in this.

Srinivasa B

SRINIVAS B   11 July 2022

Thank you sir for your reply. Kindly guide how can i proceed to transfer the property to us (legal heirs).?

SIVARAMAPRASAD KAPPAGANTU (Retired Manager)     11 July 2022

1. What is the date of Death of your Grand Father, the Testator of the Will?
  2. What was the date of Death of your Mother, the Beneficiary of the Will?

G.L.N. Prasad (Retired employee.)     11 July 2022

Particulars /details not provided in full.  Contact a local advocate and show him the will of your grandfather.

P. Venu (Advocate)     11 July 2022

Yes, post complete facts. Also who is in possession/occupation of the proerty?

Dr. MPS RAMANI Ph.D.[Tech.] (Scientist/Engineer)     12 July 2022

If your mother died after your grandfather you and your brothers and sisters, if any, will heirs to the property. If you are in possession of the will and if you and the properties are not in Mumbai, Kolkatta or Chennai, you will have to apply for and get a succession certificate. Further, you will have to do as the court directs.

SRINIVAS B   12 July 2022

Sir, My grand father expired on 12Aug1997, mother expired on 19Mar2013.

Will was written in the year 1992. Due to unawareness we did not register the will.

Dr. MPS RAMANI Ph.D.[Tech.] (Scientist/Engineer)     13 July 2022

You take the advice of a lawyer, who specialises in this kind of cases and get a succession. If the property is in adverse possession, you give notice to the person to vacate the property. Registration of the will is not necessary.