Share on Facebook

Share on Twitter

Share on LinkedIn

Share on Email

Share More

arundhatii (Junior Advocate)     28 April 2011

Format of Condonation of Delay

Sir / Madam,

I am a new lawyer, having couple of independant cases in my hand. I am handling a case of Domestic Violence, in which i have to file an appeal in the " SESSIONS COURT" at MUMBAI against an interim order of maintenance. due to work pressure, and health issues i could not file the same in the given 30 days limitation period. i have never come across such situation before, therefore, i am just wondering in what manner application/affidavit of condonation of delay be draft. will it be in the form of affidavit? or will it be an application to be filed along with copy of appeal? what reasons should i mentioned? i am just confused. it is my mistake that i could not file appeal in given time, and i accept it. please help me.

If anyone of you is having dead copy of "Condonation of Delay" application / Affidavit kindly mail it to me on following e mail id ---------> gajagamini_ek_swamini@yahoo.co.in

Please help me out. i have just started my career.

Adv. Arundhati Patwardhan

Learning

6 Replies

Om Prakash Dhusia (HR assistant)     29 April 2011

In law every right has its own period of limitation. This is a principle of equity. One has to claim certain right within a specific period. After that he is forbidden from claiming the same. But the law provides remedy for the delay also. The delay can be caused due to many unavoidable reasons or due to mistake. But for claiming the remedy for condonation of delay one has to file a petition in the Court.

Section 5 of the Limitation Act provides a remedy which says that a delay can be condoned on proving sufficient cause. The expression sufficient is very liberally construed by the Courts.

Below is a format of affidavit for the petition for condonation of delay.

Before the Honourable District Court at _______________(enter station)