KNK A Learner (Learning to share)     09 February 2012

False 498a with huge dowry, amounts to extortion?

Filing false 498A without Giving any dowry but claimed Huge amount in FIR, and claiming that amount in DVC,  Would it amount to legal extortion?

can the 385, 387 applies to this case?

Thanks in advance,

Chaitanya_Lawyer_Mumbai (Lawyer)     09 February 2012

False FIR does not amounts to extortion.After acquital, you can file for perjury,defamation etc.

Money Demanded to settle 498a amounts to extortion & can attract IPC 384.

**Vikram** (Managing Partner)     09 February 2012

Do one thing..

Call them for a settlement discussion..and let them speak up their what they want..they will defintiely speak out..

15 Lacs or 20 Lacs...

Get a small recorder or use the recorder in your mobile phone...record everything..

I thought of trying this many times..but somehow it did not happen...

Use it the way..Chaitanya as said..file a private complaint u.s 200 CrpC..

Job done..

Vikram

**Vikram** (Managing Partner)     09 February 2012

@Fight to win (What a pathetic face...I am sure, you will be driving me and many others away from this forum)

You are correct, this site is filled with many accused of crimes against women...and you are also a part of this site...

You remind me of Johny 23 in the movie Con Air..He got his name Johnny 23 because he raped 23 women..and over that he said.." They'd call me Johnny 600 if they knew the truth. "

Vikram

In her DVC, She claimed "Loss due to destruction / damage or removal of property from the control of the aggrieved person, Amount Claimed is Rs 17,00,000/-

She has neither gave dowry nor any jewellary and infact, she didnt even joined for marital life.

By showing the 498A Case, She file DVC and asking relief, Wouldnt it amount to extortion, I have a strong proof of no dowry involvement in case.

Can i file Extortion Case

Thanks in Advance.

Chaitanya_Lawyer_Mumbai (Lawyer)     09 February 2012

She can ask for compensation order in DV sction 22.

You need to file your reply with your proofs so that It will not be granted.

This does not amounts to extortion.

You have mentioned that 'she didn't even joined for marital life', please explain.

U/S 20 (c) of DVC, she claimed 17 Lakhs without giving anything.