LCI Learning

Share on Facebook

Share on Twitter

Share on LinkedIn

Share on Email

Share More

Rakesh Tekwani (Consultantd)     12 July 2011

Engagement Broken - Threat of dowry act

Hello Everyone.... i was engaged on may last week and due to insulting conduct by my father in law, I called off the engagement after 10 days. Her dad is a sub inspector. he is now applying police pressure and making me run through different police stations. First he complained about me andnow he has complained against my mom and my aunty...mentioning that we demanded dowry and he has attached bills worth of 80k as claim. He is completly lying about the dowry thing and he doesnt have any proof for the same. Now the polcie have called my family and me taken statements number of times.

I am a IT professional and work out of mumbai and my parents are staying in mumbai. They are going thru a lot of mental pressure.

Any guidance on how to tackle this case further. Can the father in law file a FIR stating dowry?

Will there be any arrest to me or family?

If i need to travel abroad for assignment, can I do that even if they file a criminal case against me?

Kindly advise.

Thanks,

V

Learning

6 Replies

Saurabh..V (Law Consultant)     12 July 2011

@Vicky,

You have to understand that such cases might end up in your and your family's arrest. Hence, for precautionary measure you should immediately proceed to take Anticipatory Bail from Sessions Court.

Certainly the person with his ego first insulted you and now he don't want to beg for your pardon but on the contrary wants to pressurize you for marriage. Offcourse there are ways out and you just need to be calm and patient. It's good thast the FIL showed his true colors before marriage else after that you would have been left all alone to suffer.