Share on Facebook

Share on Twitter

Share on LinkedIn

Share on Email

Share More

Kandavel Murugan (Supervisor)     15 October 2010

DV Case against person residing abroad

Hello Every body,

I need the learned opinion and guidance of all the members .  I am a law student and has just completed my LLB.    I am posting this  query on behalf of my cousin.  My cousin is presently abroad.  His wife is planning to file a DV against him along with dowry demand allegations.  If she files suit what would be the consequences.  Will he be deported from the foreign country.  The fact is the girl after two years of marriage had come home to her parents house during her second month of pregnancy and presently the baby is 06 months old.  But she is still not interested to join him.  She had been treating him cruelly and had been insulting him in front of her relatives and friends. She is from a well off family and want's her husband to disown his family and want's him to follow her orders to the letter.  There were few instances were she had threatened him with suicide attempt with the intention to scare him.  Now my cousin had filed for divorce during his recent visit to india.  He has returned back abroad.  My question is if a DV case is filed now by his wife including all of her husband's family members as respondents will the whole family be in trouble. ?  What legal action can he take.  he has been simply suffering for the past three years and has only come up to me for assistance.    Kindly help.  Thanks in advance.

Learning

10 Replies

adv. rajeev ( rajoo ) (practicing advocate)     15 October 2010

DV act is not criminal case it is just like a criminal miscelleneous case.  If DV act is filed against all other members of the family then challenge it in the high court.  Recent judgement of High Court can help you.

Arun Kumar Bhagat (Advocate (criminal))     15 October 2010