LCI Learning

Share on Facebook

Share on Twitter

Share on LinkedIn

Share on Email

Share More

yogesh (will tell you later)     21 May 2014

Dowry prohibition rules has not been complied

Sir, I AM AN ADVOCATE by profession and I have been booked under 498-A/406 in year 2012 at the instance of the complaint made by my SIL..The Police acted on the fake list prepared by my SIL which is not in compliance of Rule 2 of Dowry Prohibition Rules, 1985 and opposed our bail application and chargsheet is alos filed on that forged list

I simply filed the RTI seeking information from Police .The Police had acted purely on my RTI and issued memos to its PS 

The extarcts of my RTI and memos issued are as follows 

5 Please inform Haryana police officials who deal with marital disputes and dowry related cases are aware of Rule 2 of the Dowry Prohibition (Maintenance of List of Presents to the Bride and Bridegroom) Rules, 1985. If the answer is yes, then are they complying the provisions of the Dowry Prohibition Rules, 1985 while accepting complaints from woman or her relatives?

REPLY: Dowry Prohibition Rules , 1985 are complied with

6 Please provide certified copies of directions issued by your Department to Subordinate Police officials to issue directions to I/O to collect, verify and attach the evidences like the bills of purchase and receipts, cash flow, income tax returns as per the complaint copy before arguing in court for denial of anticipatory bail and seeking police custody of family members and main accused u/s 498 A, 406, as dowry articles are not fully recovered.

Dowry Prohibition Rules, 1985 are complied with . Besides this necessary direction have been issued to all district units for necessary compliance/taking necessary action in accordance to Point No 2 (1) and 2 (a) (b) ( c) & (d) vide No 2822-2855/CAW-5 dated 24.03.2014 and No 4048-4076/CAW-5 dated 25.04.2014 ( copy enclosed)