LCI Learning

Share on Facebook

Share on Twitter

Share on LinkedIn

Share on Email

Share More

RK (Doctor)     22 January 2017

Divorce vs. alimony

Hello Sir/Madam, Myself and my wife lived for 1 year and then she had filed 498a which I have been fighting for 6 years. Now I am thinking for divorce.

My wife is earning Rs. 70,000 in india and I am earing around $4000 in USA. Neither myself nor she has any properties on our names either in india or USA. However my family has some ancenstral properties which are on my father's name. No kids from the marriage.  

1) Will there be any change in alimony amount if I initiate the alimony instead of my wife initiate the divorce ?

2) Irrespetive of who initiate the divorce, what will be alimony could be given as we both are earning good to live decent life ? 

Thanks,

RK.

Learning

6 Replies

Sachin (N.A)     22 January 2017

As you both are working none of you is eligible for maintenance, it doesn't make diffrence who initiate divorce proceedings. 

Your parental property has nothing to do with this case.

(Guest)
Originally posted by : RK
Hello Sir/Madam, Myself and my wife lived for 1 year and then she had filed 498a which I have been fighting for 6 years. Now I am thinking for divorce.

My wife is earning Rs. 70,000 in india and I am earing around $4000 in USA. Neither myself nor she has any properties on our names either in india or USA. However my family has some ancenstral properties which are on my father's name. No kids from the marriage.  

1) Will there be any change in alimony amount if I initiate the alimony instead of my wife initiate the divorce ?

2) Irrespetive of who initiate the divorce, what will be alimony could be given as we both are earning good to live decent life ? 

Thanks,

RK.