Share on Facebook

Share on Twitter

Share on LinkedIn

Share on Email

Share More

Paul (Manager)     14 May 2013

Divorce filed in usa, can that be reconsidered in india

Dear All,

I am a project manager working with an Indian IT company and now posted in USA. We are married for 10 years and having 2 kids ( 7 year & 3 year) . My wife is a home maker and on dependant visa . My wife found someone during her visit to India and started asking for divorce after coming back . She has made several phone calls and e-mails to the persons whom she want to marry. I have some e-mail proof that talks about their elicit relationship .

Now she has filed no-fault divorce in US in a family court . She agrreed earlier for no maintennace and giving elder son to me as placement..joint custody on both the sons ...however I am no sure if she would change her decission and plan to take both the kids with her .She will ask for child support and spousal support .In USA as it is a country of no-fault divorce extra -marital affair has not any reason .

I am very attached to the children and do not want to loose them . She is planning to get divorced here and get married to her boyfrined in India and move to a different country along with my kids.

Her family members started putting lot of blame on us and threating my parents about 498A case etc .They have a plan to get her daugther with my two kids and will keep her at their native place with a legal separation. That way I will end up paying maintennace but would be the biggest loser .

As me and my wife are in US now her family members are not able to file any case against us . Also my wife is not in the side of her parents to file any kind of case against us .

I am not able to take a decission whether to go for divorce here in USA would be in my favor or getting divorced in India would be in my favor. My wife's family members have very strong hold and power in India.