Upgrad
LCI Learning

Share on Facebook

Share on Twitter

Share on LinkedIn

Share on Email

Share More

Sunil Kumar (na)     29 October 2009

Collection Agent Posing as Police Oficer and Thretning life.

Hello members, I am a professional based in Gujarat Baroda.

I Recieved a Phone call from Delhi from this mobile number. on the date 28/10/2009 at 9 30 am. The person calling asked my name and address later he claimed to be calling from Delhi Police station and addressed himself as a senior oficer. On enquiring the intent of his call he said that he has recieved a complain from bank against my name for collection of dues, this was enough to raise doubts in my mind therefore I asked him to prove his Identity and sought clarification.He reacted sharply and started abusing and using profanity against me and my members of my family. He then threatned my life and warned of dire consequense , police astion tourture and jail.

I was humilited and he made me feel immense personal pain and trauma. he hung up on me and I was left with no reason as to why i was made a subject to this kind of behaviour.

Dear members I called this guy contonously for next 2 hours or so and he did not recieve my calls, I then sent him sms telling him that i need explaination and my wish to clarify the situation, later he recieves my calls and threatens me that he will come down personally and drag me in front of my family and neighbours and take me in custodey with Guj Police and tourture me if I called him again. pls advise me what legal recourse shoud I take.

I understand him to be some collection agent who is Impersonating Police officer Idont have his name and address nor do i have his address of name of the organisation.

Pls Help...

Learning

6 Replies

Suchitra. S (Advocate)     29 October 2009