Upgrad
LCI Learning

Share on Facebook

Share on Twitter

Share on LinkedIn

Share on Email

Share More

Kris   28 September 2017

Can i apply for divorce other than the mutual consent?

I have been working in USA for the last six years.

I got married in 2015. Immediately after a couple of days, my wife said that she is not interested in the marriage and that she don't want to come to my home in Hyderabad or with me to USA. She never said this after the engagment and she spoke normally.  

No one could convince her and she applied for marriage annulment in 2016, on the grounds of age difference and that I will be living permanenlty outside of India. At the time of filing the annulment, we also agreed upon giving them back all her jewelleries, etc., and we wrote and signed a kind of mutual agreement letter on a bond paper that she is not interested in the marriage, not lived together even for a single day and everything has been returned to them.  However, in 2017, the case was disposed as there were no sufficient reasons for the annulment. 

She then applied for divorce on the grounds that me and my family members tortured her, though she never lived with me or with my family members. I approached the elders/mediators between both the families and they suggested to go for mutual consent divorce as they could not convince her to live with me. She demanded alimony if she has to agree for mutual consent divorce.  I too lost interest in the marriage by then and we gave the alimony/maintenance (signed a bond paper mentioning the amount and that she cannot claim anything in the future) to get rid of the marriage as soon as possible.  We applied for divorce by mutual consent in June 2017.     

But now, the girl's parents are calling us frequently telling that she is now changed and she don't want to get divorced.