LCI Learning

Share on Facebook

Share on Twitter

Share on LinkedIn

Share on Email

Share More

Ulhas (Team Leader)     18 August 2010

Builder delaying completion, not forming society

Hello all, please pardon my ignorance but I am a complete novice to how leagal system/advocates work?

I purcchased a flat from a Pune builder 2.5 years back. I got possesion in reasonable time (1.5 years), flat was complete at that time but building was incoplete. Since then the builder is continuously delaying the completion, the work is stalled or happens in a really slow pace. We haven't got completion certificate or society formation.

I would like to understand whether 

- Can I file a case against him?

- Or, send him a legal notice first?

- Or, approach consumer court?

Please suggest. Thanks

Learning

7 Replies

Darshan Panchal (Advocate)     18 August 2010

you han't specified whether the uncompleted portion consists of ur flat or other member's flats. consumer forum would not be the right forum to approach since you got ur flat's possession. However, you may alongwith other members send a legal notice to the builder and call upon him to finish pending construction since common construction concerns all the members and the builder should be sent a collective notice.

krantiveer (Advocate)     18 August 2010

You should have refused to take possession if the work was incomplete. You may take civil action.

Ulhas (Team Leader)     19 August 2010

Originally posted by :krantiveer
"
You should have refused to take possession if the work was incomplete. You may take civil action.
"

Thanks, but Builder never acted funny till recently, so we didn't suspect anything wrong. Can you please elobrate on 'taking civil action'? 

hari sri chunduru (advocate)     05 September 2010