Share on Facebook

Share on Twitter

Share on LinkedIn

Share on Email

Share More

Chirag Thakkar (Properietor)     15 March 2013

Any laws about naming a child in india?

Hi Friends,

Are there any laws about how a child should be named in India?

Basically, I am a teacher and translator. From last fifteen year I have been teaching and I see that one of the root causes of all the problems of Indian society is caste system. That's why I don't want my baby's name ending with a caste name. I want to name the child in the following order:

Baby's name + Mother's name + Father's name

That way I can respect the labour of mother as well. All I want to know it there are any legalities that can stop me doing from it?

Thanks for your time and help.

Regards.

P.S. I am not sure if I have posted this question in the right forum.

Learning

10 Replies

Manish Udar (www.Mehnat.IN)     16 March 2013

Nothing stops you from giving your child any non-defamatory name that you wish to.

Chirag Thakkar (Properietor)     16 March 2013

Thanks Manish. Any particular reference that I should look into bcz my parents are against my thought and I have to calm them down by showing them what I am doing is legal / constitutional. Thanks again.

Manish Udar (www.Mehnat.IN)     16 March 2013

Sanjay Leela Bhansali has his mother's name as his middle name. As far as father's name is concerned, it is used as a middle name or a surname in large parts of India. You can satisfy your parents by giving the baby the official family name also in addition to the ones that you have mentioned if you can suppress your anger at the caste system. I  have known guys named Neel Ratan and Abhinav Gaurav, where there is no indication of caste or even of parents names. There have been many famous personalities with just one name. My own mother has just one name. I forget the name, but I remember there was one very famous lyricist or music director who had just one name.