LCI Learning

Share on Facebook

Share on Twitter

Share on LinkedIn

Share on Email

Share More

Samir N (General Queries) (Business)     25 August 2013

Session court appeal from dv judgment

My wife's appeal in DV case from an order by the Magistrate Court, appealed to the Session Court, was admitted even before I was served any notice. Is this normal? Did I miss something? Also, is the Govt. representative going to defend the Order or can I also join in? 

Thanks

Learning

6 Replies

Big Iron (Officer)     26 August 2013

I am not a lawyer.

In DV case, any party which feels aggrieved can approach session’s court within 30 days of order.

Once a party appeals in sessions court, other party will be served a notice.

You need to hire a lawyer, perhaps your MM court lawyer would be best choice.

SRISHAILA.DHARANI (Advocate&consultant)     26 August 2013

Its normal practice,don't worry.Please engage a professional lawyer who is expert in family matters, and proceed further.

wish you all the best.

srishaila,advocate,bangalore,9741425514,sdharani120@gmail.com

Samir N (General Queries) (Business)     26 August 2013

Amazing! I am getting replies that say that I need to contact a lawyer. All I asked is a procedural question and there are no valid answers!

To restate my question:

How does an appeal from a DV case in a session Court proceed? Appellant files papers, then what... precisely. Is the appeal assigned a number? Is notice required for admission as in High Court? Or is it admitted by default when filed? When does the 30 days period for filing cross-objections start? How are cross-objections to be filed? Can I file them before the first hearing if the first hearing is scheduled after more than 30 days?