LCI Learning

Share on Facebook

Share on Twitter

Share on LinkedIn

Share on Email

Share More

Ranjeet (Consultant)     26 July 2012

Rights of employee

Hi, could any one guide me, if the employer takes the performance issues as a base to lay off employee, what possibilities are to get the compensation in labour court.

Can the employee be able to again get his job..

Thanks

Ranjeet

Learning

6 Replies

A (Engineer)     27 July 2012

Hi Ranjeet,

Well, I am facing  a similar situation myself. I am not a lawyer, but from whatever I have read if your work qualifies you as a 'worker' meaning that your work is at the execution level and not at a managerial level, then as per the industrial disputes act you can sue them in the labour court. 'Termination' can also qualify as an industrial dispute and if the court finds you innocent of the charges, i.e. performance then they can order your reinstatement. I would suggest you try and get a good and fair settlement from the company and if the negotiation fails you can go to the labour court. Since I am not a lawyer, better you take expert legal advice too and then decide your course of action. 

Cheers, and good luck!

sushil (Sr. Clerk)     05 August 2012

Ranjeet,

I think your employer set to close down its establishment due to temporary reasons. He should have obtained permission under ID act for its temporary closure and your employer has to pay half salary to you during lay-off period. Better you lodge a complaint immedietly to 'Labour Commissioner' of your region for your employer proposed action. So, during pendency of your matter before Labour commissioner some restriction upon your employer to take any action against you. You can be reinstated at the time of your establishment would functioning in future.

Regards.

Sushil

Ranjeet,

Pl. find enclosed herewith 'Industrial Dispute Act.1947' guide for your perusal.

Thanks

Sushil

Dear Ranjeet,