Share on Facebook

Share on Twitter

Share on LinkedIn

Share on Email

Share More

Amsin Almeida (TL)     10 December 2014

Maintenance charges and unformed society

Hello Sirs,

I am a resident of an unformed society from the last 7 years. I have been paying the maintenance charges as requested by the society members from time to time. CHS was never formed so honorary secretary and treasurer maintain the society and pay respective charges for Water tax, Sweeper charges etc.

The unformed society in question consists of 2 buildings. Whenever any kind of repair work is carried out I've not been informed of the same nor are any quotations disclosed ever. I have no statement of accounts of how the maintenance paid is being utilized from the last 7 years. Even if there are meetings held internally, I'm not informed of the same and decisions are taken without my knowledge.

The secretary takes decisions about repairs without my knowledge or consent. I have complained about issue with the main pillar of the building being cracked as i reside on the ground floor and repair being required urgently however I'm always told that there are no funds but repair work is always carried out in the second building where the secretary resides.

1. Is there a way I can request for all details of accounts paid towards repairs and bills paid from the secretary?
  2. What other information should i be asking for from the secretary towards all charges incurred by the society?
  3. is it in my best interest to stop paying maintenance till the time I get the above details?

I feel that money is not being utilized properly and feel cheated as well.

Please help. 

Learning

3 Replies

Anil Agrawal (Retired)     11 August 2015

Can a society charge parking fee from owner and tenant at different rates.

rakhi   12 August 2015

Dear Expert,