Upgrad
LCI Learning

Share on Facebook

Share on Twitter

Share on LinkedIn

Share on Email

Share More

Kumar (Accountant)     05 November 2023

Father and sister trying to steal property which was given under will to me (son)

Hi Sirs,
I am 27 years old. My mother had property, and has written a will deed stating that it would be transferable to me. The property has been mutated under my name, however, the property was put under mortgage under my sister's name (though the property was under the name of my later mother) to get a higher loan amount, since I was a student back then.
The mortgage duration is of 12 years. Through out the duration of the loan, It was me who paid the loan amount by transferring the loan money to my father's account, since the auto debit was added to my father's account.
When the loan was applied, I was a minor, and wasn't aware that there was a will under my name. It has come to my attention that there was such a will about 2 years ago, and I've gotten the title transfer done. 
But I don't have any original documents, nor the title transfer papers. 
Recently, I've found out that my father is trying to create a fake will deed, under my mother's name, and get the property transferred to his name, and there after my sister.

I have video proofs to show that, they are conspiring against me.
The only problem is that I don't have any valid paperwork with me, since the documents are lying in bank under my mother's name, and the title transfer paper was handed over to my father in good faith.

Please help me, and how should I proceed to defend myself, and ensure that I don't get cheated.

Learning

2 Replies

Dr. J C Vashista (Advocate )     05 November 2023

You have got the property mutated in your favour, hence you are absolute owner.

In case your father or sister files any case, contest it tooth and nail, it is bound to be dismissed.