Share on Facebook

Share on Twitter

Share on LinkedIn

Share on Email

Share More

A (Engineer)     25 August 2012

Compensation for severance / forced resignation

Hello experts,

I work as a software engineer in a IT company(nature of employment is permanent) and have been an employee here for about 20 months (more than 1.5 yrs). Recently (About 1.5 months back), they mentioned that my performance was not good and I would be put on a performance improvement plan (PIP) . Now, they are saying that they are still not satisfied with the performance so I can expect that the end of next month will be my last working day. Effectively, they are giving just about a month's notice.

As per my offer letter, a 3 months notice is required from either side, or payment of fixed salary equivalent to the notice period. However, there is a clause in the letter that if it is due to performance grounds, then no notice is required.

My work is mainly at the execution level so I believe that I would qualify as a 'workman' as per the industrial disputes act.

My questions are as follows:

1) As per the industrial disputes act, would termination by giving 'performance' as reason qualify as 'retrenchment' ?

2) As per various acts including the ID act, can I expect any severance compensation from them(including payment of salary in lieu of notice because they obviously dont want me to continue in the company for the period of 3 months). If yes, then what is the maximum amount I can get, and how do I go about negotiating it with them? I may be willing to resign if they provide adequate compensation.

3) What is the best course of action for me to take?

(Mr. Doab: You may be already familiar with the case as I had posted about some of the developments about a month back.)

Looking forward to your responses, and thanks in advance.

Learning

5 Replies

Kumar Doab (FIN)     25 August 2012

Pls copy paste previous thread title and link.

A (Engineer)     25 August 2012

Mr. Doab :