LCI Learning

Share on Facebook

Share on Twitter

Share on LinkedIn

Share on Email

Share More

sp (private)     11 April 2011

Fraud marriage of Married man

Met one person on Indian Matrimonail web site and got married in India. Later on came to know that man was married (second time) at the time of marriage with kids.

Getting different opinions from different people, according to some as he was married at the the time of the marriage, this marriage is not valid.

How legally clean this mess up?

Learning

26 Replies

(Guest)

Where is he?

India or abroad?

I am not a lawyer.So don't know too well.But I think your can check from marriage registrar office of the city where he has his home in India.They can tell if he was married.

Or hire a detective if you can afford.Ask him to cllect valid proofs that come handy when you go to court.

sp (private)     11 April 2011

He is in India. I'm abroad.

His wife and in laws found out about his marriage somehow and they called me. He was also there and said "it was a mistake" ???????

If he was married  at the time of the marriage, than mine was a valid marriage?

(Guest)

No it's null and void

How can an adult make a mistake?

Good that you are acting responsibly and taking legal advice,rather than sticking to this sh*t person.

I don't know much,but I am sure you can file a case against him for fraud.Wait for legal experts to advise.

sp (private)     15 April 2011

If legal experts can advise...

what kind of legal document I require? Do I have to get his marriage certificate? or how to request legal documents in court? Should it be In India?

Yes,  legally I was not married. However, just to be on the safe side, I think I would obtain some kind of legal document or written opinion from a lawyer. Just so that you have something to pull out of my files on the off chance this ever comes up in the future and I have to prove the marriage wasn't legal.

Arif Iqbal (Advocate)     15 April 2011