LCI Learning

Share on Facebook

Share on Twitter

Share on LinkedIn

Share on Email

Share More

MUNEESH DHAWAN (Advocate)     23 September 2012

Competitor Clause in appointment letter

Friends I am a legal manager in a X organisation which is having a clause in appointment letter that states that an employee cannot join a competitor organisation within six months of his resignation. Now when I my reporting authority has accepted my resignation, HR of my organisation is not accepting resignation n not relieving me on the premise tht i m joining Y organisation which is their competitor asper them. They have got to know which organisation I m joining. Now they can create trouble for me. Kindly suggest what to do n help me with case laws etc.. to fight my case. It is pertinent to mention that 100s of people have join competative organisations but they are singling me out to harrass me for reasons best known to them.

Learning

2 Replies

Kumar Doab (FIN)     23 September 2012

Being a lawyer you may appreciate that company shall claim that you have signed the document by your free will.

Company as a master can exempt, waive the condition in your case or deny.

You need to build your defense.

Did the company mention in its job advertisement, offer letter, that employee shall have to sign a clause ……………as mentioned by you?

Or the clause was inserted in your appointment letter and appointment letter was supplied to you after you had left your previous venture and joined this employer?

Or the agreement was signed while you were in the mid of your employment?

If dispute is dragged to court of law, courts shall decide as per law of the land.

What else an employee is expected to do for 6 months sell Bhajiya……????

The restraint may very well be in force while the employee is in employment, up to the last day in office.

Company must not decline to accept the resignation on the ground that it knows your to be employer in future.