Share on Facebook

Share on Twitter

Share on LinkedIn

Share on Email

Share More

Manoj Verma (Engineer)     03 February 2012

Liquidated damages clause in appointment letter

Dear All,

I am a novice in legal matters and am facing this strange situation and need your expert opinion/advise.

I signed and accepted an appointment letter and decided later not to join the organization. Now this letter has a penalty clause which says that if i fail or refuse to commence my employment with this organization then I will have to pay Rs. 40,000 as liquidated damages.

Please suggest which is the valadity of such clause and what legal a/c this company can take against me and what all legal options I have at my disposal so that I don't pay this huge amount.

Exatract of the contract:

Upon acceptance of this offer, should you fail or refuse to commence the performance of duties under this Employment Agreement on the Effective Date of this Agreement, you shall pay to the company, an amount of Rs. 40,000 as liquidated damanges, which is agreed and understood to be a fair pre-estimate of the damages suffered by the company on account of such action.

Notwithstanding the above, the company retains the right to a file a claim for damages or take appropriate action in relation to any breach of the obligations by you under this Agreement.

Regards,

Manoj

Learning

5 Replies

Kumar Doab (FIN)     04 February 2012

Company has to prove the amount to be claimed as liquidated damages.

Rs. 40000/candidate is a huge amount.

Were you inducted in the company and did you sign the inductin report and join the duties?

Did you sign offer letter or appointment letter? Appointment letter is issued post acceptance of the offer of appointment.