Share on Facebook

Share on Twitter

Share on LinkedIn

Share on Email

Share More

Raghu (Software Engineer)     09 June 2012

Breach of non-solicitation and non compete clause

Hi,

I need advice for my situation. Currently i am in India and working for an Inidan Based software company A. (Its an MNC).

I am a software engineer joined 2 years back in a software comapny A with prior experience.

During my tenure Software company A, didn't provide me any training as such.

I sumitted resignation and am serving notice period as per the agreement and will be relieved from my duties in next couple of days.

For these 2 years i am working for an US client from India  through this company A. Now the US client offered me a full time job.
At the time of joining company A, I signed on offer letter which is on company A letter head.

In offer letter there are couple of clauses that are bothering me.

Non Solicitation : During your employment with the company and for a
period of 12 months thereafter, you shall not provide services to any
of Company’s clients(except as accepted by the company), directly or
indirectly or solicit any business from its clients."

Non Compete : Your position with the company calls for full time employment and you will devote yourself exclusively to the business of the company. You will not take up any other work for remuneration (part time or otherwise) or work on advisory capacity or be interested directly or indirectly (except as sharholder or debenture holder) in any other trade or business, during your employment with the company, without written permission from the company. On leaving the service of the company, you shall not take up a full-time/part-time employment with any of our customers and associates for a period of 1 year. You understand and agree that such restriction is reasonable and in the interest of the company's businesses.