Share on Facebook

Share on Twitter

Share on LinkedIn

Share on Email

Share More

Sandipan   23 December 2016

Absconding! is this really possible?

Learned members of this community

I have no legal background nor do I know much about law, but I have a very basic question. This question has nothing to do with me but one of my colleagues who had absconded from his current employer and the employer had sent a legal notice to him along with that they are threatning to publish his name on newpapers and his future employer as an absconder.

My questions is - I know the employer as well as the emloyee adhere to the agreement that they had signed mutually at time of joining. And if anyone violates that agreement the other party can take legal action. But is the action which can be taken limited to the clauses mentioned in the appointment letter? If the employer violates the agreement then the employee can file a legal case, send a legal notice. But can the employee publish anything negative about that employer on newpaper or on social network? Or can the employee say anything openly bad about the employer to it's prospective hires? I guess NO. If it happens the company will file the defamation suit and strip off the employee. The only actiona an employee can take is Legal action if the employer violates the agreement.

Then how come if an employee violates the agreement the employer can publish his name as absconder and assassin the employee's character on public forum. How come the current employer can contact the future employer and inform them everything about the employee? These clauses are mentioned nowhere in any of the employment agreements. 

I have seen in so many forums that the learned advocates and experienced HRs give advice to do so if an employee absconds? I would like to know if there is any law pertaining to that where the employer enjoys some extra facilities as compared to the employee as far as the violation of employment agreement is concerned?