Please help and suggest what should i do

(Querist) 24 March 2012 This query is : Resolved 
I Rajkumar Gupta living in Kalyan, Mumbai residing in Chawl for last 27 years with Parents. We have 2 shops as well as 2 Room. Landlord Issues Receipt in name of my Mummy.
Due to certain Circumstances (Family condition worsened ) we were not able to pay Rents since 2006. We pay rent around 1700/- totalling all Room + Shop.

Now the problem is Our Landlord has started abusing my Parents. ( Father is an Heart patient aged 62 and Mummy is also not good with her health aged 55.)

recently he started abusing with all the bad words to my parents and pushing my father.

he is demanding money around 1.76 lakhs just for one room, and wen v demanded to be transparent in his calculation he is not giving us the statement.

i am fed up of his harrasment, what can be done in this matter??
seshadri dubey (Expert) 24 March 2012
mr raj at first let us know how long you are staying on that property and do you have any tenancy agreement with your land lord?
and do you have any rent receipt before 2006 or not? did your land lord served you any notice of ejection or not?
Raj (Querist) 24 March 2012
v do have receipts before 2006, its an Pagdi System with Landlord. and he neither serve any notice to us for ejection.

v came recently after two months from native place (went for my Marriage), wen i returned i found my Door locked without any prior notice to us.
Raj (Querist) 24 March 2012
its 27 years i have mentioned v have been staying on that property
ajay sethi (Expert) 24 March 2012
send all arrears of rent by demand draft with covering letter . after you have pad rent move court for declaration that you are tenant . since you have been staying in premises for 27 years you cnat be arbitrarily eviced by landlord .

your landlord cannot lock door of your house . contact a local lawyer in kalyan
Deepak Nair (Expert) 24 March 2012
I agree with Mr.Ajay.
Guest (Expert) 24 March 2012
About your statement, "v came recently after two months from native place (went for my Marriage), wen i returned i found my Door locked without any prior notice to us" --

You being a tenant for the last 27 years, the owner does not have any right to lock your house. First of all get the house unlocked by taking help of local police in the presence of some other witnesses.
Raj (Querist) 25 March 2012

seshadri dubey
Deepak Nair
Ajay Sethi
PS Dhingra

thanx a tonne for ur helpful comments

Rent of Shop 1 ===> 440 (200 Rent + 240 Tax)
Rent of Shop 2 ===> 350 (150 Rent + 200 Tax)
Rent of Home 1 ===> 200 (100 Rent + 100 Tax)
Rent of Home 2 ===> 850 (600 Rent + 250 Tax)

Pending Rents till end of february 2012
Rent of Shop 1 ===> 61 Months
Rent of Shop 2 ===> 61 Months
Rent of Home 1 ===> 64 Months
Rent of Home 2 ===> 62 Months

if i calculate the rent totalling all.....
it comes around
113690/- till now

do v have to include interest rates, or any penalty for late charges for paying rent, or any more taxes on pending Rent also??

But our Stupid Landlord is asking us around 1.76 lakhs just for Home 2. he has not ellaborated pending amount for other Room + Shop.

Landlord is not cooperating in giving us fair calculated amount, he is just asking amount.....

Do Comment pls....

Guest (Expert) 25 March 2012
Dear Raj,

All these things, you need to discuss with your landlords and get the difference reconciled by sitting together. You have stated that landlord is not cooperating in giving us fair calculated amount, he is just asking amount..... I wonder, when you are not cooperating with your landlord for the last 61 months, how you can expect him to cooperate with you.

I don't think he will cooperate with you unless you start paying the outstanding rent due against you, may be in installments, on request to reconcile the difference in the calculations of both of you.
Raj (Querist) 25 March 2012
Dhingra Sir,

I really agree with your views Cent Percent No doubt in that Dhingra jee.

But Landlord and We use to share good Relations so it was all about Trust between us, and so we use to give him Rents wenever v had Money.

Recently he got an Offer from other party for Room and Shops which will Pocket Rent around 15000-20000 per month for him. So he has started using Goonda Tactics against us.

I am also Burden with Parents Health so i m worried.
Guest (Expert) 25 March 2012
Your new post does not reveal what sort of more help you want from experts. You could have taken adequate clues from the existing replies of the experts for taking some course of action rather than continuing with discussions.

Rest your own hired advocate can do for you.
ajay sethi (Expert) 25 March 2012
send demand draft of Rs 115,000 being arrears of rent by demand draft with covering letter mentioning detailed particulars .
Raj (Querist) 26 March 2012
@dhingra sir....okkk

@ajay sethi.....thanx will surely do that first
Guest (Expert) 26 March 2012
You are welcome.