Divorce and settlement

Querist : Anonymous (Querist) 11 April 2010 This query is : Resolved 
My sister got married last year and within two months she went back to her home with her brother under critical condition of her health. Her health detoriarated due to continuous torture and she was forced to abort her child.
My sister and my mother filed an FIR. Initially the police delayed the entire proceeds as the groom family was continuously bribing them and adding to that my family was also receiving threatening calls to withdraw the case. After continuous begging the case finally went to the court, however the advocate who was fighting the case for us sold entire evidence to the groom family. Now we have no advocate as the initial advocate is not allowing any other advocates to fight case for us.
My mother gave 8 Lac rupees to the groom for my sister to buy car and jewellery. However now the groom is refusing to return the money but wants a divorce without any settlement. My mother has now spent all her savings in the court but without a result. Please guide us.
Q 1. How can my mother get her money back?

Q 2. Though we have sufficient proofs,but we do not have an advocate now,please guide us regarding this matter. If there is a provision for freelance advocate, we are ready for that as well.

Any additional help will be of great help.
Guest (Expert) 11 April 2010
NANDKUMAR B.SAWANT.M.COM.LL.B.(MUMBAI),ADVOCATE
MOBILE.9271971251, 9960223100
e.mail.adv.nbsawant@yahoo.co.in
e.mail.nandkumarbs@sify.com

REGARDING YOUR SISTERS COURT CASE KINDLY NOTE THAT

1.YOU MAY URGENTLY SEND THE CASE DETAILS AND LOCATION AND CONTACT DETAILS SO THAT I CAN HELP YOU IN THE SAID CASE.
2.KINDLY NOTE THAT YOU NEED NOT WORRY MUCH AS LATEST LAW PROVISIONS ARE IN FAVOUR OF MARRIED WOMEN AND WILL SUGGEST YOU THE BEST LEGAL REMEDY AND WILL HELP YOU
WITH BEST REGARDS TO YOU YOUR FAMILY AND FRIENDS.
THANKING YOU
YOURS SINCEREY
NANDKUMAR B.SAWANT.M.COM.LL.B.(MUMBAI),ADVOCATE
adv. rajeev ( rajoo ) (Expert) 11 April 2010
do you have any proof to show that your mother has given huge amount to groom, without the evidence you cannot prove any thing.
Your sister can file cases under DV Act against the family members of her husband.
Raj Kumar Makkad (Expert) 11 April 2010
I do agree with rajeev
G. ARAVINTHAN (Expert) 17 April 2010
as stated by Rajeev, can file complaint under DV act for compensation