Theft of Snatching purse in the running train inside

(Querist) 05 March 2017 This query is : Resolved 
Dear sir I am Abhishek Saraswat travelling from Laksar -Haridwaar to Saharanpur for getting my connecting train from Saharnpur to Mathura. So there will be no Express or mail train for getting my train from saharanpur so I'll travelled in passenger train with my wife n son with valid tickets when train is just arriving in saharpur a person snatched my wife purse in the running train and get out from the train purse contains gold oarnamemts of worth rs 2.5 lacs sir is there any rule for compensation from railway of travelling in passenger train we also lodge an FIR in GRP Saharanpur . if there any rule so please respond. regards Abhishek
Deepak (Expert) 06 March 2017
No, there is not any kind of rule. The responsibility of your belongings is totally upon yourself
Ms.Usha Kapoor (Expert) 07 March 2017
IN SIMILAR CASE CONSUMER COURT IN THANE ORDERED 1 LAKH FOR MENTAL AGONY OF THE VICTIM WHO LOST HIS PURSE CONTAINING MORE Than 4 CRORES and THE CASE IS STILL GOING ON.
consumer court in Thane asked the Konkan Railway Corporation to pay Rs 1 lakh to a passenger for his mental suffering following theft of his belongings while travelling in a train in 2012.
Adv. Yogen Kakade (Expert) 07 March 2017
Rightly analysed and guided by Ms. Kapoor