Please help me to get my salary

Querist : Anonymous (Querist) 27 January 2010 This query is : Resolved 
Dear Seniors,
I got a job through reference in a organoization which wanted to get established in Mumbai, the owner is from Ranchi. Initial one month was going fine but later he started showing tantrums. The whole office was in my custody alongwith the keys.He didnt pay me my salary of 2 months and also didnt pay to the vendors as well. I wrote him an email stating that i will keep tha laptops given by him to be taken care in my custody till he pay me and others.So he came and filed a police complaint against and also sent me email stating many things and asking me to pay in lakhs.
Later on through that reference he met and promised to pay in 15days time but till date he never showed up.All his contacts has been closed and he is not traceble.
I also got to know the office which he had in Ranchi and Bhubaneshwar has also been closed as he didnt pay to other employees also.In such case please let me know as to what should i do.I have his passport size picture and other few details, should i publish this in any news paper as other innocent people will be not suffer.
The items which i have are perishable electronics items .....can i sell it and retrive mine and the peons salary also i can pay to those vendors.

Please help me

Jagruti
jagruti02@gmail.com
B K Raghavendra Rao (Expert) 27 January 2010

You have the key and custody of the office with materials as a trustee of your employer. You cannot appropriate the materials towards your and others salary without his consent.

If he is not traceable, you need to wait till he comes up. There are every chances of his claiming more materials than what is left by him. It is better you conduct a mahazar and list out the items you have in your custody in the presence of five prominent persons of the locality. You would be safe.

To recover your salary either approach labour court, if applicable to you, or file a complaint of cheating with the police. He has promised you to pay salary if you work and has not paid salary after you have worked. This is nothing but cheating.
Querist : Anonymous (Querist) 27 January 2010
Mr Rao,

During the settlement meeting alongwith the ref i handed over the keys and other small things which were with me to him.
Now i only have the electronics items.
And i truly wish to sell them off as its more than 6 months now he is not traceable.

Please do let me know if i can sell off the items as after a certain period of time it wont of any use.
I have kept it just for security reasons to claim my and the other people's money.

What procedure to follow now??

I would be extremely thankful if you guide me.

Jagruti
Raj Kumar Makkad (Expert) 28 January 2010
I do agree with Rao.
Arul Kumar (Expert) 03 February 2010
Pls follow what Shri Rao has suggested.