Remember | Register | Forgot Password?
Bookmark This Page   RSS Feeds  Follow On Twitter

 

Search for Lawyers          
    

Home > Experts > Criminal Law > Compromise in 138 NI Complaint



Please Wait ..

Compromise in 138 NI Complaint (Criminal Law)

Report Abuse
This query is : Resolved


Author : vinod bansal

Posted On 09 November 2010 at 20:25

R/Experts
I am representing accused in a complaint us 138 NI Act,after charge evidence has closed and accused statement us 313 crpc has also recorded,now case is fixed for 22 Nov for final argument,a compromise has been effected in between parties,we both side counsel prayed in the court that in view of compromise,complainant want to withdraw his complaint,but Ld Magistrate said that after taking cognizance and recording of after charge evidence now it is a state case and court declined our oral request and further asked (Orally)to deposit 10% amount I.E. Rs. 20000/- as compounding amount in view of latest judgment of Honeble apex court.Accused is not in a position to pay Rs. 20000/- as compounding fee/amount What we have to do in given circumstances.We suggest the court for Dismissal of the complaint on next day on the ground of absence of complainant,but court refused,kindly suggest as accused is very poor person,in this case i further realized that on the one side Courts/Govt are stressing for compromise via Lok Adalat and Mediation centers,even in civil suit court fee is also refunded in case of compromise,on the other hand in given case,court is adopting a contrary stand,its double standard policy as i think and is against judicial system. Regards




Expert : arvind

Posted On 09 November 2010 at 20:43

I am also eager to know the answers from the learned members.



Expert : Prakash Yedhula

Posted On 09 November 2010 at 22:05

The Supreme Court's decision is driven by the factum of huge pendency of cheque dishonour cases in India and the tendency of the accused to drag the cases for years and finally settle the amount just before the conclusion of the case. The court and the judicial system is taken for a ride and it is nothing but an abuse of process of law. Since the decision is by the Supreme Court, the Magistrate has no other option, except to insist for a fee as per the guidelines of the Supreme Court. For the benefit of members, find the judgment of the Supreme Court attached.



Expert : arvind

Posted On 10 November 2010 at 08:11

Sir the judgment is, if there is a situation of compounding of offence.

Mr. Bansal is asking Whether magistrate is right here, if the complainant withdraws the complaint, or it is dismissed on non appearance of complainant.



Expert : PJANARDHANA REDDY

Posted On 10 November 2010 at 08:26

WE R THE FIRST COUNSELS IN INDIA PAID AT H.C ON 10TH MAY 2010 RS.75000/- TO STATE LEGAL SERVICE AUTHORITY A.P BY AN APPELLANT ON COMPROMISE.

IT IS NOT POSSIBLE TO ESCAPE PENALTY,SINCE IT IS SC GUIDELINES.YOU HAVE TO PAY. HOW DOES A MAGISTRATE AGREE FOR IT?



Expert : s.subramanian

Posted On 10 November 2010 at 12:26

If the complainant is absent the court has to dismiss the complaint.



Expert : ADVOCATE DEFENSE.

Posted On 11 November 2010 at 10:26

No it is not easy, follow Mr Reddy.



Expert : Arun Kumar Bhagat

Posted On 13 November 2010 at 20:08

The facts stated by querist Mr.Vinod Bansal requires some correction. First in Cheque bouncing case i.e. u/s 138 N.I.Act, Charge is not framed as it is summons procedure case.Plea is taken u/s 251 Cr.P.Code. Second it is not State case it is private complaint case. NOw I suggest Mr.Bansal to ask the Ld. Advocate of the Complainant to file an application u/s 257 Cr.P.Code for withdrawing of the case. NO magistrate can force the complainant to continue and proceed with the case. If the magistrate rejects the same then ask the prosecution to stop attending the court, then the case shall be dismissed u/s256 Cr.P.Code. If there is a will there is a way.



Author : vinod bansal

Posted On 13 November 2010 at 20:39

Thanks mr. Bhagat for useful suggestions,i wrongly mentioned charge in place of notice of accusation,thankyou very much Sir


Previous

Next

You need to be the querist or approved Lawyersclubindia expert to take part in this query .


Click here to login ( Members Login ) now







Similar Queries :










Quick Links



Browse By Category



Subscribe to Experts Feed
Enter your email to receive Experts Updates: