Violation of Child Labour Act

profile picture nilesh    Posted on 26 April 2012,  
  Share  Bookmark

The Union Labour & Employment Minister Shri Mallikarjun Kharge has informed the Rajya Sabha  that as per 2001 census, the total number of working children between the age group 5-14 years in the country was 1.26 crore. However, as per NSSO survey 2009-10, the working children are estimated at 49.84 lakh which shows declining trend. Under Section 3 of the Child Labour (Prohibition & Regulation) Act, 1986, prohibits the employment of children below the age of 14 years in 18 Occupations and 65 Processes. Any person who employs a child in any occupation or process where employment of children is prohibited under the Child Labour (Prohibition & Regulation) Act, is liable for punishment with imprisonment for term which shall not be less than 3 months but which may extend to one year or with fine ranging from Rs.10,000/- to Rs.20,000/-. States/UT Governments are appropriate Government for implementation of the Child Labour(Prohibition & Regulation) Act, 1986 in the areas comes under their jurisdiction . As per the available information State-wise prosecution launched during 2010 & 2011 is as per Annexure-I.

The Minister was replying to a written question whether it is a fact that some State Governments could not prevent the increasing number of child labour and whether Government has instructed the State Governments to take stringent action against those who violates Child Labour Act; and the State-wise details thereof and the total number of casesbooked under this act last year?

ANNEXURE-I

State-wise data  on Prosecution

State

No. of Prosecution

Andmn&Nico I. U.T.

NA

NA

Andhra Pradesh

NA

Arunachal Pradesh

NA

NA

Assam

NA

Bihar

Chandigarh    U.T.

Nil

Chhattisgarh

NA

Dadra & Nagar H. U.T.

NA

NA

Daman & Diu U.T.

Nil

Nil

Delhi U.T.

Goa

Nil

Nil

Gujarat

Haryana

Himachal Pradesh

Jammu & Kashmir

Jharkhand

NA

Karnataka

Kerala

NA

NA

Lakshadweep UT

Nil

Nil

Madhya Pradesh

170*

Maharashtra

Manipur

Meghalaya

NA

Mizoram

Nil

Nil

Nagaland

Nil

Nil

Orissa

Pondicherry   U.T.

Nil

Punjab

Rajasthan

Sikkim

NA

NA

Tamil Nadu

Tripura

1(1997-2011)

Uttar Pradesh

NA

Uttaranchal

West Bengal

Nil

"Loved reading this piece by nilesh?
Join LAWyersClubIndia's network for daily News Updates, Judgment Summaries, Articles, Forum Threads, Online Law Courses, and MUCH MORE!!"

Views  1347  Report

Comments
img