LCI Learning

Share on Facebook

Share on Twitter

Share on LinkedIn

Share on Email

Share More

HelpmePlzz (-)     24 July 2013

Wife right on property in husband name

Please advise me how can I save my property which is registered under my name, from the greed of my wife. I have been married for almost 4 years and just after 6 months my wife started threating my family (Mother, sister). I am the youngest in my family and all other siblings are married and settled. My wife, myself and my mother, my 2 years old daughter were staying together in the property but often had quarrels about family issues, she went to police as well making a false complain and while in fight she shouts without any reason (saying bachao, bachao) to make neighbours aware.. She keeps threatning me for police complaints and keep saying that she would put me and my mother behind the bars. She is a lawyer by profession.  My mother is now living separately with my elder brother for last 6 months.

I have a flat registered in my name and she keeps saying that she will accquire the property. Is there any way I can save my property. I heard about gift deeds, by which I can gift it to my mother.. will that help in this case.

I am still paying EMIs for my flat. or is there any other way using which I can save my property?

Learning

7 Replies

Khushboo Solanki ( -)     25 July 2013

As per Indian Succesion act a wife has primary rights in the property of her deceased husband. A wife can acquire her husband's property by execution of law under indian succesion act on death of her husband. However, wife can also acquire husband's property by act of person i.e her husband not being dead through conveyance deed or sale deed of such immovable property. A wife cannot acquire her husband's property untill and unless her husband being the owner of the property having gud title conveys such title and all rights related to the property to his wife through sale deed.