Share on Facebook

Share on Twitter

Share on LinkedIn

Share on Email

Share More

Moh (dr)     19 April 2014

Will

Dear All,

I have a 2 bedroom flat in Mumbai. My son, his wife and 2 grandsons ( minor-7 years and 5 years) are british citizen. I am making a will and spent few hours on your website. wealth of information..

My understanding so far- 

1- If I distribute my asset - 25 % to each of them, then on my demise each of them will have 25 % share in the property;

But if my son wants to sell the property then he has to either wait till my grandchild are 18years old or have to take permisiion from district judge.

2- the other option is - to make a will in my son and his wife name (50% share each) ; on my demise, the property gets transferred to them and then they can make a will in their children name ( ie my grandsons name). 

Advantage- they can sell the property without involving the court, if they have to

Disadvantage - they need to a make will in UK which may not be valid in India. 

So, I am a bit confused; any guidance will be helpful. The more you read,the more you get confused. sometimes ignorance is bliss

tHelp please

hanks in anticipation

Learning

4 Replies

kavksatyanarayana (subregistrar/supdt.(retired))     19 April 2014

either father or mother will be the guardian to the minor children. and if you  distribute the property at 25% each parents can dispose the property by signing on behalf of the children.  so it is advisable that if you distribute the property at 25% each by a condition that the property allotted to minors should not be sold till they attain majority.  after they ( your grand children) attain majority, they (your g/c) may enjoy the property as they (Your g/c) wish.  This is for suggestion.

Moh (dr)     19 April 2014

Thanks for reply. I thought the parents can't sign on behalf of minors and have to take court permission to sell the property. 

T. Kalaiselvan, Advocate (Advocate)     20 April 2014