FightForCause (Businessman)     03 September 2015

Property distribution after divorce

Hi Experts,

What is the way the property is distributed after divorce case when the property is taken after the marriage and is held in joint name.

Property was worth 50 lakhs

Husband paid 20 lakhs

Wife paid 8 lakhs

and rest 22 was taken on loan by Husband-wife jointly.

So if now property is sold at 80 lakhs

Bank takes away their 22 lakhs

how remaining 58 lakhs will be distributed between husband and wife.

honest   03 September 2015

If you want to be honest on each of your hard earned money. Share on prorata basis.

1) 22L invested spouse

(22/28)*58 = 41.4 Lac 

2) 8L invested spouse

(8/28)*58 = 16.6 Lac 

Honest

Thanks for replying, but I am asking a legal recource here , not an honest opinion.

What u have mentioned is absolutely correct and things should happen in same way, but i want legal opinion, whether what u mentioned is legally correct or it will be 50;50.

Experts please throw some light.

SuperHero (Manager)     03 September 2015

Would Wife agree for 50 : 50??? Ofcourse she is not your wife after divorce.

Wife is for 50:50 It's husband who wants the divide as per investment done. Please give a legal advice....moral and ethical issues are not for Botheration.

There is nothing called as honesty, if you lay hands on such money, just grab it and vanish into thin air.  Once you enter court, nothing is wrong or right.

stanley (Freedom)     04 September 2015

As per law the property would be divided in propotion to their investments but each has to prove their share of investments .