Share on Facebook

Share on Twitter

Share on LinkedIn

Share on Email

Share More

Nisha (Accts)     27 January 2015

Fast divorce and cooling off period

Dear Sir/Madam,

I have been staying seperate for 3 years and now i want to file case for divorce. Can i get relief from 6 months period (section 13B of Act) ?? Also please let me know the procedure for filing the case. There has been NO contact between boy and girl and also between both the families. this will be first initiative by me for divorce. Also there are no chances for reconciliation. Please let me know how can this can be done as fast as possible.

Thanks

Learning

7 Replies

ADV-JEEVAN PATIL, MUMBAI ( DEEMED/CONVEYANCE OF BUILDING)     27 January 2015

U can file. Time after 1yr since marriage + 6 months waiting period

namaste   28 January 2015

such urgency is obiviously ur personal matter.
in spl. case, time period may b considered bt consult ur lawyer whether ur case come in tht bracket or nt.

Adv k . mahesh (advocate)     28 January 2015

no contact since 3 years long period

first consult a local lawyer at your place and explain whole story and about your intention of cooling period and will be considered because what is the reason you have not mentioned in your query so by your personal visit your chosen lawyer will explain the facts

Samir N (General Queries) (Business)     28 January 2015

All the above answers are valid but here is a dose of reality:  There is no such thing as a fast divorce in India especially if the other party does not want to get divorced.   Based upon the limited facts given by you, the best legal basis for you to get divorce will be on desertion provided that you can prove that he deserted you or that he made life such a hell for you that it was impossible for you to live with him.