Share on Facebook

Share on Twitter

Share on LinkedIn

Share on Email

Share More

Rajbeer   29 May 2016

Divorce & interm maintainance

Hi,

I am an IT professional in MNC and got married in 2009. My wife left my rented house with my son(age-4Years) after dispute happens between us.She beaten me and filed a NCR in local police Station against me.This is 3rd times she left house after marriage. I am very much depress and want divorce.

a) If she will not agree for MCD then shall i go for contested divorce?

b)Suppose My in hand current Salray is 65K after tax deduction then how much interm maintainance court can grant to her.?

C) If wife already worked somewhere before marraige and she was having master degree in English litrature then what will be the action of court in terms of granting Interm Maintainance.?

d) This interm maintainance will be granted by court from 1st month after filing Divorce?

e) Please advice me how can i come out from this situation?

Thanks,

Rajbeer

Learning

8 Replies

(Guest)
  1. Contested divorce takes 5 years minimum in court. It is not easy to get and I won't advise going down that route. 
  2. Since you have child, half your salary will be awarded to wife and child as maintenance. 
  3. If wife has worked before she has some ability to earn and that can help to argue for lower maintenance. But she has a 4yo child and has not worked for sometime. Court usually will favor her arguments in this scenario.
  4. Voluntarily pay some maintenance irrespective of what happens. It is your moral and legal duty towards child and wife. Also courts will see you favorably.
  5. Maintenance award can take upto 1 year but you will have to pay arrears from date when she applies for maintenance. 
  6. Best way to come out of situation is to restore relationship. Meet with marriage counsellor and try to remove negative cycles from relationship. There is usually a happy place once both parties can see beyond the fog of right-wrong.