Share on Facebook

Share on Twitter

Share on LinkedIn

Share on Email

Share More

Rohan   28 April 2024

Installation of grill on ground floor

Hi,

I am a resident of Bangalore and a flat owner in a gated society on the ground floor.

We recently had intruders entering the society and are now considering putting grills. However, the society states grills can be installed only on the inside of the window within the house and not out side as it will affect facade.

This is an inconvenience to us as a flat owner as now space will be utilized unnecessarily and opening and closing of the windows will be a challenge as we would have to put our hand through the grill to open the window.

Note: The grill will not affect any pathway and will not cause any problem physically as it would be flat and not a box grill.

Does the society have the right to decide where the grill on my window should be installed?

what are my rights here as a flat owner?

This is what the bye laws state w.r.t grills:

Owners/residents are not permitted to make any structural or other modifications, which may alter or
spoil the façade of the building in any way, whatsoever. The only exception is the grills for windows
which will be constructed post obtaining Occupancy Certificate should conform to the color and
specification approved by NR ROYAL PARK RESIDENCY Residents Welfare Association.
Owners/Residents will also have to ensure that these grills are fixed appropriately to the walls as per the
recommendation of N R ROYAL PARK RESIDENCY Residents Welfare Association. Any debris from any
work done by owners/residents must be removed from the common area immediately.

Learning

11 Replies

Dr. MPS RAMANI Ph.D.[Tech.] (Scientist/Engineer)     28 April 2024