2005 Ayodhya Terror Attack : Verdict Delivered

A special court in Allahabad has convicted four of the five accused and has sentenced them to life imprisonment. On July 5, 2005, terrorists of a Pakistan-based terrorist group Lashkar-e-Taiba (LeT ) tried to attack the makeshift temple at the disputed Ram Janmabhoomi-Babri Masjid site in Ayodhya.

Heavily-armed terrorists attempted to carry out a suicide attack.The terrorists fired heavily at the troops and also threw grenades. Some of the terrorists were gunned down while five terrorists namely Irfan, Mohammad Shakeel Ahmed, Asif Iqbal, Mohammed Naseem and Mohammed Aziz were later arrested after investigation.

The police also recovered a single RPG-7 rocket-propelled grenade launcher, five M1911 pistols, five type 56 assault rifles,several M67 grenades and some jihadi documents.

The case was heard by the special Judge Dinesh Chand in the Naini Central Jail itself where the convicts were lodged. Public Prosecutor Gulab Chandra Agrahari told that the court has also imposed a fine of Rs 2.4 lakh.

The verdict is finally delivered after 14 years of long legal proceedings, after 371 hearings and testimonies by 63 people. The 63 witnesses were examined through the video conferencing by the court.

Published in Others
Source : ,
Views : 23

 Recent Comments

Total: 0


  LAWyersclubindia Menu