Share on Facebook

Share on Twitter

Share on LinkedIn

Share on Email

Share More

Radhakrishnan (Government Service)     31 March 2009

Right to Information Act

Sir,

actually i am new to this and pl. excuse me if i have made this request wrongly  in this forum. my querry is with regard to RTI. is there any circular/notification/decision that the reply given to the applicant should be in the language used by the applicant.  For ex. if the applicant makes an application in Tami from a central govt. office in TN, the reply given is either in English or in Rajabasha (Hindi - as there is an Hindi Officer in every department). can the applicant insist on furnishing the reply in Tamil?

Radhakrishnan

Learning

11 Replies

Ashey   31 March 2009

citizen whQ 'desires to obtain any information under the Act, should make an

application to the Central Public Information Officer (CPIO) of the concerned public

authority in writing in English or Hindi or in the official language of the area in which

the application is made.

Ashey   31 March 2009

I don't think there is any such provision in the act to provide information in the requested language

Ashey   31 March 2009

u can seek for the information in the language in which it is available

Akhilesh Kumar (Legal Counsel)     31 March 2009

Dear,

sec.6(1)of the RTI Act says that "A Person who desires to obtain any information under this Act, shall make a request in writing or through electronic means in english or hindi or in the official language of the area in which the application is being made, accompanying such fee as may be prescribed.

Provided that where such request cannot be made in writing, the CPIO/ SPIO as the case may be shall render all reasonable assistance to the person making the request orally to reduce the same in writing.

Dear,