Share on Facebook

Share on Twitter

Share on LinkedIn

Share on Email

Share More

(Guest)

qualification for patent agent

Greetings,

Qualification for patent agent is a science graduation, I am a ML graduate and I ve done 5yrs law degree, if I need to register as patent agent, can I do any distance education in science. whether it is application? Is there any regulation? Pls clarify me.

Learning

18 Replies

Iftikhar Ahsan (Indian Patent Agent)     03 June 2009

Yes you rightly said, technical qualification is must to become patent agent exam. I think you might do a correspondence course in science. However, you must check the recogination of such course by AICTE and UGC. 

Regards,

Iftikhar Ahsan

1 Like

Amit Kumar (Advocate)     05 June 2009

Whether MCA qualifies for this exam ?

(Guest)

thank you,  let me do any correspondence course in science.

regards,

Aruna

Iftikhar Ahsan (Indian Patent Agent)     05 June 2009

section 126. Qualifications for registration as patent agents :- (1) A person shall be qualified to have his name entered in the register of patent agents in he fulfils the following conditions, namely :-
(a) he is a citizen of India;
(b) he has completed the age of 21 years
(c) he has obtained a [degree in science , engineering or technology from any university established under law for the time being the force] in the territory of India or possesses such other equivalent qualifications as the Central Government may specify in this behalf , and, in addition,-
(d) he has paid such fee as may be prescribed.

What is your undergraduate degree?

Personaly, I don't know any patent agent with MCA background but there are a lot with B.tech computer science. 

Amit Kumar (Advocate)     05 June 2009

Thanks for the details... I have done B.com(hons) as under graduate degree... 

Senthil (Patent Consultant)     17 June 2009

To understand more about patent agent exam in India, please visit the following link

INDIA PATENT BLOG