LCI Learning

Share on Facebook

Share on Twitter

Share on LinkedIn

Share on Email

Share More

Courage2014 (Secretary)     12 March 2012

Indian husband got bahraini citizenship

Myself and my husband are nri-s living in Bahrain in the Middle East. We are Roman Catholics and married in 2004 in Goa and our marriage is civil registered as per the law in Goa. My husband decided that he did not want the marriage anymore in 2009 and left home in February 2009. We have a 7 year old daughter who lives with me. My husband visits her rarely as and when he find time from his busy schedule. He approached me in June 2010 to file for mutual divorce which i kindly declined and requested him to file for divorce if he so wishes to end the marriage. Now, he has obtained his Bahraini citizenship and has converted to Islam. I have no knowledge if he has entered into another marriage as he and his family have been very discreet about everything so far. I have checked with my legal aid here in Bahrain who confirmed that if he wishes he can forcefully take my daughter away from me as the bahraini law will protect the rights of its citizen. And he can stop her from travelling with me if he wishes. She is under his legal sponsorship at the moment.

1. Is it really a fact that now that my husband is a Bahraini, Indian law will not apply to him.
  2. What if he applies for a divorce, can he apply for a divorce in Bahraini court or he has to apply for it in Indian courts considering we married in India?
  3. He keeps threatening me about divorce and uses abusive language in his communication. If i have evidence can i do something to stop him from doing so legally?

Please advise.

Learning

10 Replies

sharmilla ram (general manager)     12 March 2012